Earlier this year, I grew some parsley from seed. I hardly ever use it in cooking (maybe because I never have any to hand?) but at some stage, I must have felt it was time I did, which would explain the packet of seeds I found in the barn. It struggled to get going (something to do with the intense heat, no doubt) but I eventually transplanted it into the newly created herb patch, where it was touch and go for a while.

Over the summer, it gradually filled out its corner, vying for space next to the giant oregano plant. And yet I still hadn’t used it. Now, rather late in the day, I’m wondering what to do with it all. It should survive the winter but just in case, it would be good to know I hadn’t let it all go to waste.

So, with a few store cupboard ingredients, some additional home-grown herbs and a stick blender, we now have parsley pesto and a salsa verde. I’ve hardly made a dent in the parsley patch but now I’ve been reacquainted with its taste and smell, I’ll be making more of an effort to use it in the future.